Skip to main content

Mon-Thu 9-9

Fri 9-6

Sat 9-5

Sun 1-5

Sun Closed

Law: QuickStart Guide

This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for finding legal information and is intended for public library users and librarians.

Legal Blogs & Podcasts

Legal Feeds & Blogs from LOC

Links from the Law Library Division of The Library of Congress to RSS feeds and Email Subscriptions.

Loading ...

Legal News Websites - Keyword or Topic

Jurist is one source for keeping up with national legal news of interest.

Search for news by topic or keyword using the links below.

Massachusetts Laws in the News

For recent legislation, search the Session Laws which are arranged in chronological order.  For current bills before the Massachusetts General Court (legislature), click on Bills Search.  Sign up to receive a free State House newsletter called MASSterList.

For a specific day's legislative information, search the Senate and House Journals.

Cases in the News

Federal News

USA.gov

Loading ...

Historical News

The main index generally covers the years 1878-1937, although there are selected entries for earlier and later dates. Entries include obituaries, coverage of political events, speeches, dedications, visits of foreign dignitaries and general news events. The Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Boston Journal, and Boston Transcript were indexed most consistently, although there are entries for other newspapers as well. A later index, covering the years 1960 to 1983, includes articles from the Boston Globe and Boston Herald which are primarily political or governmental in nature.

Legal Periodicals Searching

Use the advanced search feature in Gale's Academic OneFile database to limit search to legal journals.  Also try Google Advanced Scholar Search for searching legal journals. If you have a Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries library card, search HeinOnline.

What's New or Timely

November is National Caregiver Month.

Massachusetts Family Caregiver Support Program

This program can help you care for a member of your family. A Caregiver Specialist will create a plan and give you tips and support.

AARP provides a map of those states which have passed the CARE Act.

Massachusetts is one of those states.

 

Image result for pd 43 massachusetts

A searchable database of Massachusetts historical election information, all from Public Document 43.

Massachusetts Bar Association's Dial-A-Lawyer

Offers free legal advice on the first Wednesday of each month: Call (617) 338-0610 on the first Wednesday of the month between 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

2018September 5, October 3, November 7, December 5

 

DialALawyer

Supreme Court of the United States

Oral Arguments by the week, plus transcripts, audio and much more. Search: JUSTIA: US LAW FOR U.S. CASE LAW.

To find opinions of a nominee for the Supreme Court , use Google Scholar and set radio button to Case Law search.

To find articles by a nominee for the Supreme Court, use Google Scholar and set radio button to Articles.  This may take you to HeinOnline.  Use that first if you have access, or ask a librarian to log you into the Social Law Library.  The Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries is another source, either in person at one of the 17 law library locations, or asking online.

Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries Document Delivery Service 

Locations and Contact Information for Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries

Social Law Library

New! Ask  your Massachusetts public librarian to search Social Law Library databases

Massachusetts Public Libraries: LIBRARIANS LOGIN ONLY.

Image result for legislation clipart

Bills in the news --Track Congress with Govtrak.us.

MASSterList - your go-to source for Massachusetts political news and commentary. Every day.

MASSterList.  News stories from Beacon Hill.  ALSO: Job Seekers: On Mondays, check the Job Board Listings!

New & Recent Published Opinions (and Lists of Unpublished Decisions): Newly published opinions and a list of unpublished opinions for judgments. 

Register for E-mail Notification by Topic

Reporter of Decisions: New and archived published and unpublished opinions

State Legislature Website

Utilize Massachusetts Alerts to receive emergency notifications and information from the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency and the National Weather Service.  Massachusetts Alerts is a free app that is available for Android and iPhones. To learn more about Massachusetts Alerts, and for information on how to download the free app onto your smartphone, visit: http://www.mass.gov/service-details/massachusetts-alerts-smartphone-app.

 

Utilize MEMA’s real-time power outage viewer to stay informed about current power outages in your community and region, and across the state, including information from utility companies about restoration times: http://mema.mapsonline.net/public.html

Utilize MEMA’s live weather radar and forecasting tools: http://www.mass.gov/map-resources

Online Resources:
For additional information and resources, visit:
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency at www.mass.gov/mema
MEMA's Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/MassachusettsEMA
MEMA Twitter: @MassEMA
Federal Emergency Management Agency at www.fema.gov
National Weather Service/Taunton at www.weather.gov/boston
National Weather Service/Albany, NY at www.weather.gov/albany
National Weather Service Weather Prediction Center: http://www.wpc.ncep.noaa.gov
National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center:  http://www.spc.noaa.gov/
Mass211 at www.mass211.org

 

 

 

 

In Your Opinion

Want to write an op ed or letter to the editor?  Try this box for guidelines and contact information.

Massachusetts Legal Newspaper

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly ONLINE is available on Newton Free Library online with our e-journal logon, and through Gales's Massachusetts History Online (Gale)

  Date restrictions apply for accessing full text.  Allow 6 weeks for current issues.  Database begins with 2001.

HeinOnline is available with a Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries library card.  You must apply in person for a library card.

Look for IMPORTANT OPINIONS OF THE WEEK on the front page column on Monday's print format.

THOMAS (Library of Congress) Daily Digest

Loading ...