Skip to main content

Mon-Thu 9-9

Fri 9-6

Sat 9-5

Sun 1-5

Sun Closed


Lists the resources in the Newton Free Library's local history collection known as the Newton Collection.

Newton Collection Subject Lists A-G

Below are broad subject areas A-G in the Newton Collection.  Each  subject area contains an annotated list of items available by Dewey call number in the Newton Collection as of February 2, 2012.   Items in the Newton Collection are not available for lending.


Related links for Newton Collection Subject Lists A-G

Below are found direct links to databases, brochures and websites that provide  extended information on the subject areas A -G from the Newton Collection.


Newton Cemetery on Centre Street - Grave of Gen. William Hull, Newton, Mass. -

Both public and private cemeteries (burying grounds) exist in Newton.   There are three city cemeteries located as follows: one on Centre Street, one on River Street and one on Winchester Street.  Known as the East Parish Burying Ground, the Centre Street Cemetery is the oldest.  Located at the corner of Cotton and Centre streets, the first grave dug here was in 1664.

There are two private cemeteries in Newton: the Newton Cemetery (791 Walnut Street, Newton Centre) near City Hall and the Newton Free Library. This cemetery is a spot of quiet beauty that was set aside by public spirited citizens in 1855 and has been acknowledged as one of the most beautiful cemeteries of its size in the country. St. Mary's Cemetery the other private cemetery is owned by St Mary's Episcopal Church on Grove Street, in Newton Lower Falls. Its stark beauty is matched by the church which borders one side.



Associations, Clubs and Foundations Social Science Club

Paper: Privilege is obligation : the one hundred-twenty year legacy of the Newton Social Science Club.  Paper presented to the Newton Social Science Club.  February 7, 2007 by Newton Free Library Special Collections Librarian, Georgina Flannery M.S.

Books and Documents from the Newton Collection Subject Lists A-G on Digital Newton

Below are found specific direct links to Digital Newton for Newtoniana's subject areas A -G.  These items are also available in hard copy and/or on microform in the Newton Collection.

EBooks from the Newtoniana

Search here for titles in our Newton Collection subject lists.  Some of the older titles in the Newton Collection (i.e. The Newton Cemetery: Newton, Massachusetts Cover Artby the Newton Cemetery (Newton, Mass.) Trustees: 1919.) are available for viewing on Google Books.