A List of the Newton Free Library's Databases
Last Updated: Nov 27, 2015
Periodicals: newspaper, magazine, journal
Full Text: entire article is available
Citation: bibliographic information about the article
Abstract: a summary of the article is available
Scholarly/Professional Journal: original research in a specific
field and have been reviewed by other scholars
Peer-Reviewed Journal: is an academic periodical that has a
review process to ensure its accuracy
- ABC-CLIO History Databases
|Four history databases for middle and high school students, including topic overviews, biographies, timelines and primary sources. Search together or individually.|
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
|Academic Onefile contains 10,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content from 1985.|
- American Ancestors (NEHGS)
|Only available INSIDE the library. The website provides extensive online resources, including databases, how-to articles, research columns, bibliographies, free queries, and discussion groups. You may also browse through the online book catalog for New England, New York, and other regions.|
- Ancestry Library Edition
|Only available INSIDE the library.|
This database includes U.S. Federal Census Records from 1790 through 1940, the Immigration Collection of New York, San Francisco Passenger Lists, New York Petitions for Naturalization, recent obituaries from many newspapers, and much more.
- Biography in Context (Gale)
|Includes biographies on more than 500,000 people gathered from more than 170 Gale reference sources. Search by name, occupation, nationality, gender, place of birth or death and other criteria, or narrow results by content or document type. Also includes Contemporary Authors.|
|Looking for a book for your book club to read next or a book to bring on vacation or the hottest new business title or award winners for young adults and children?|
- Books and Authors (Gale)
|Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Gale's Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.|
- Books For You
If you're interested in personalized recommendations for books to read, fill out our "Books for You" form, and we will suggest books based on your specific preferences.
- Boston Globe (ProQuest)
This database provides the full text of articles published in the Globe since 1980 that were written by staff journalists, including news reports, feature stories, columns, and editorials.
- Boston Globe Digital Microfilm
See ProQuest Digital Microfilm
. View, print, save and email digitized images from the Boston Globe. Coverage is January 1, 2008 – current (with a 2-3 month lag).
- Britannica Annals of American History
|Explore the rich and varied history of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images, and multimedia.|
- Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood)
|For ages 4-7: Play, discover and create!|
- Britannica Library
|Three sites in one: Children, Young Adults, and the Reference Center for older students and adults. Also includes full-text magazine articles, Web links, images and video, a world atlas, and more.|
- Britannica Online Mobile Edition
|Search Britannica on your mobile device!|
- Britannica Online School Edition
|Separate Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud at all levels and translation for over 50 languages. |
- Britannica Public Library Edition for Kids
|Contains Compton's Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and a wealth of other age-appropriate material for younger students and children.|
- Britannica Spanish Reference Center
|Enciclopedia Moderna for high school ages and up, and Britannica Escolar Online for ages 6-12.|
- Britannica World Data Analyst
|View country snapshots and compare countries of the world by creating tables and charts using current and historical statistics. Export data to spreadsheets.|
- Business Collection (Gale)
|Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Includes business and trade publications, and a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.|
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
|Formerly called Business & Company Research Center. Research and compare companies and industries using industry rankings, company profiles, market share data, investment reports, charts, graphs, and more.|
- Central Register & Goods and Services Bulletin
Options for Access:
A: Allows searching. Available in the Library ONLY. To log in,
please speak to a Reference Librarian for assistance.
B: Searching not available.
Choose from issues (pdf versions).
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
Recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Includes the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions.
- Consumer Reports Online
| Available inside the Library only To log in, please speak to a Reference Librarian for assistance.|
Consumer Reports is a comprehensive source for unbiased advice about products and services, personal finance, health and nutrition, and other consumer concerns.
|Only available INSIDE the library.|
Provides comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products.
A science-based encyclopedia of natural products is also provided, including a drug-interaction database.
- Consumers' Checkbook
|Only available INSIDE the library.|
Boston Consumers' Checkbook evaluates the quality and prices of local service firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, veterinarians, banks, insurance companies, and many more.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select (Gale)
|An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC-Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.|
- Criminal Justice Collection (Gale)
|Articles focusing on all aspects of the criminal justice field. Publications include: American Criminal Law Review; Corrections Today; Criminal Justice; Criminal Justice Ethics; Forensic Examiner; Psychology Today; and more.|
- Culinary Arts Collection (Gale)
|Articles from 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.|
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database
|Newton has discontinued access to D&B's Million Dollar Database. If you have a Boston Public Library card, you can obtain access here. Massachusetts residents can apply for a BPL eCard here.|
- Facts on File eBook Collection
- Foundation Directory Online Professional
- Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
|Only available INSIDE the library.|
Search for information on foundations that fund individual grantseekers, including scholarships, student loans, fellowships, program development, internships, professorships, arts and cultural projects, research, awards/grants by nomination only and general welfare. Database updated weekly. This database is part of our Foundation Center’s Funding Information Network.
- Foundation Maps
|Thousands of eBooks from small and independent publishers, with no waiting lists. Please note: Freading is NOT compatible with Kindles, except the Kindle Fire. |
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
|A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Sources may be searched individually or together.|
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection (Gale)
|A collection of more than 80 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference books.|
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)
|Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries. Choose "Advanced search" and then type a ticker symbol into the pop-up box to search Reuters Research on Demand.|
This resource will be replaced by Business Collection on 9/30/15.
- General OneFile (Gale)
|General OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases. OneFile contains over 5,000 full-text periodical titles, and more than 9,200 titles in all, on a wide range of topics.|
- General Reference Center Gold (Gale)
|Use this general interest database to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.|
- Global Issues in Context (Gale)
|International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Browse by issue, country, or region; includes reference, periodical, primary source, and statistical information as well as multimedia.|
- Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
|Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications.|
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
|Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.|
- HeritageQuest Online
|Includes 28,000 family and local history books, U.S. census records, and PERSI, an index of over 2.3 million genealogy and local history articles.|
|Borrow free movies, TV shows, audiobooks and music albums with your library card. Enjoy on your PC, tablet, or phone.|
- Hoover's Online
|Contains a variety of business information about public, private and non-U.S. companies, including extensive company profiles, information about competitors, and names and biographies of key people. Also available is company and industry news, IPO information, research reports and annual reports.|
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (Gale)
|Including over 500 industry journals, this collection covers the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.|
- InfoTrac Junior Edition (Gale)
|Designed for junior high and middle school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.|
- InfoTrac Student Edition (Gale)
|Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.|
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society (ABC-CLIO)
|Produced in conjunction with leading scholars and educators, Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers a graphical, straightforward interface, designed to lead researchers through the complexities of both national and worldwide issue and modeling ways to think about them beyond simple pro or con. |
- International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who
|Only available INSIDE the library. |
Information on all the countries of the world, including territories and federal states; all significant international and national organizations, from the United Nations to economic and trade organizations; comprehensive biographical profiles of over 6,000 of the most important people in the world today.
|A collection of over 500 full-text journals across more than 40 disciplines in the arts, humanities and social sciences.|
- Kids InfoBits (Gale)
|Kids InfoBits targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.|
- LearningExpress Library
|Test Prep for Free! Educational and career test preparation materials. Practice taking tests: ASVAB, GMAT, GRE, SAT, Citizenship, HiSET, skills improvement courses for reading, writing and math skills, and many more.|
- Literature Resource Center (Gale)
|Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. |
- Little Pim
|Online language learning for kids, from Mango Languages. Includes Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian and Spanish.|
|NEW! Video tutorials to help anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills. Access is limited to Newton residents. Read more about using lynda.com here.|
- Mango Languages
|Language instruction for dozens of languages, as well as ESL instruction. Use Mango Premiere to learn a language by watching a movie. |
Learn on the go with Mango Mobile apps! Go to Mango Languages and create an account, then download the free "Mango Languages Library Edition" app for iPhone/iPad, Android, Kindle Fire, or Nook.
- Massachusetts History Online (Gale)
|Use this collection for full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events.|
- Massachusetts Register
In Library Only To log in, please speak to a Reference Librarian for assistance.
The Massachusetts Register is published every two weeks by the Secretary of State. It contains executive orders by the governor, Attorney General opinions, permanent and emergency regulations, notice of public hearings, the State Register of Historic Places, and a list of recently enacted legislation.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary
|Search over 470,000 entries in Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged. Other resources include Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Thesaurus, Medical Dictionary, Spanish-English Dictionary, French-English Dictionary, a Style Guide, and Word Games.|
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
|Provides financial data on over 12,000 stocks and 24,000 mutual funds, with independent reports on 1,700 stocks and 2,300 funds. |
When you are done, please "end session" at upper right so others can use the database.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
|Covering today's important social issues,features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.|
- Optimal Resume
Our subscription to Optimal Resume has been discontinued as of 7/31/15. For resume, cover letter, and job search help, try the Career Transitions
database, available from the Boston Public Library website
. If you don't have a Boston Public Library card, any Massachusetts resident can get an eCard online
for immediate use.
- OverDrive eBooks, Audiobooks and Video Digital Media Catalog
|Download eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming video to your tablet, mobile phone, eReader, or computer.|
- Oxford English Dictionary
|Search for the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The site now includes a Historical Thesaurus to the OED, and "Aspects of English" (descriptive articles on language).|
- Salem History
PDF: How to Search for Salem eBooks
|Contains the Great Events from History Series as well as Great Lives from History Series, Milestone Documents in American and African American History, Sixties in America & Twenties in America.|
- Salem Literature
PDF: How to Search for Salem eBooks
|Includes access to: Critical Survey of Short Fiction, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes, Masterplots, Magill's Literary Annual (1977-present), Critical Insights: Authors, & Critical Insights: Works. |
- Salem Science: Encyclopedia of Global Warming
PDF: How to Search for Salem eBooks
|Encyclopedia of Global Warming provides complete, authoritative coverage of the science, policy and social issues surrounding global warming and climate change. The essays in this set address a broad range of topics, from scientific concepts to social issues to current laws, organizations, people, and much more.|
- Science in Context (Gale)
|Provides topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics, and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.|
- Searchasaurus (EBSCO)
|Includes: Encyclopedia of Animals, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and the Primary Search full text collection of more than 70 popular elementary school magazines.|
- Serials Solutions
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
A business analysis package that includes industry surveys, stock and bond reports, company profiles, articles, and the Register. Industry Surveys are only available in the library.
Please note: This online version does not include the Mutual Funds Reports, the Dividend Record, and Security Dealers Directory.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- TELL ME MORE (Auralog) Version 10
Tell Me More
has been discontinued. Please try our other language learning database, Mango Languages
|An online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.|
- Universal Class
|PLEASE NOTE: Our subscription to Universal Class ended on August 31. Please try our new database for online learning, lynda.com. (Access is limited to Newton residents.)|
- U.S. History in Context (Gale)
|Resources in U.S. History, including articles, images, essays, primary sources, and multimedia. Search by topic, keyword, or source type.|
- World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society (ABC-CLIO)
|Information, analysis, facts & figures and timelines on world conflicts, from the Aztec-Spanish War in the 16th century to the United States's military involvement in the Middle East in the recent decades.|
- World Book Online
|Includes World Book Kids (elementary-school students), World Book Student (middle and high-school students), World Book Advanced (high-school, college students, and adults), and World Book Discover (students reading below grade level). Also has a Spanish-language encyclopedia, primary source documents & eBooks.|
- World Food (Sharpe Online Reference)
- World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO)
|Covers world history from prehistoric times to the year 1500, primarily for middle and high school students. Browse subject overviews in "Topic Explorations," or search by type of resource or topic. The database includes biographies, primary-source documents, essays, maps, quotations, timelines, photos, audio and video, statistics, and more.|
- World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
|Covers world history from the year 1500 to the present, primarily for middle and high school students. Choose an era for topic overviews, biographies, and primary-source documents and images.|
- World History in Context (Gale)
|Resources in World History, including articles, images, essays, primary sources, and multimedia. Search by topic, keyword, or source type.|
Take online classes for free with lynda.com!
Over 3,000 video courses for all levels covering technical skills, creative techniques, and business strategies.
Focus on a specific skill or take a whole course--learn at your own pace and in any order, 24/7!
Access is available to Newton residents only. Read more about using lynda.com here.