Skip to main content

Hold Pickup (only):

Mon-Thurs: 10-7pm

Fri: 10-5pm

Sat: 10-3pm

Board of Trustees of the Newton Free Library

About the Board of Trustees

Newton's Library Board of Trustees is a group of dedicated residents appointed by the Mayor, and confirmed by the City Council. As the governing board of the Library they have charge over the care and control of the library building, fixtures, furnishings, and holdings. They adopt policy, oversee expenditures, and are critical advocates and fundraisers for the library.
The Board consists of 7 members. The composition, terms and duties of the Library Trustees are governed by Section 16 of the Newton City Ordinances, and the Trustees operate under a set of Trustee By-Laws.

Current Board

Barbara F. Meltz
2nd Term: May 27, 2019 to Jun 30, 2024
Bharat Bhushan
1st Term: May 11, 2018 to Jun 30, 2023
Samuel Nathans
1st Term: Dec 02, 2019 to Jun 30, 2024
Jean Notis-McConarty
1st Term: Oct 16, 2017 to Jun 30, 2022
Sharon Stout
1st Term: Oct 16, 2017 to Sep 30, 2022
Geline Williams
1st Term: Oct 16, 2017 to Jun 30, 2022