Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Express Browsing:

Mon-Thurs: 10-8pm

Fri: 10-5pm

Sat: 10-4pm

Newtoniana

Lists the resources in the Newton Free Library's local history collection known as the Newton Collection.

Introduction

The Newtoniana is a guide designed to give the reader access to and familiarity with the resources in the Newton Free Library's local history collection known as the Newton Collection. The materials in the collection document Newton's history from its beginnings in 1630 to the present.  Included are print and non-print materials produced by city departments, Newton organizations and individuals.

The guide is arranged into four major sections or tabs:  general works, periodicals, subjects A-G, and subjects H-Z. 

A full bibliographic citation and a descriptive annotation is given for each Newton Collection entry in the guide. Entries are being linked to the catalog and some entires will also be linked directly to their corresponding digital images.  All audio/visual items are included in one of the four major sections or tabs.

This Newtoniana LibGuide is enhanced by the addition of web resources.  These web links give current and immediate access to many of the items contained in the Newton Collection.

Over the decades there have been Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Newton and her residents. Those FAQ's are found in the tab Newton-FAQ's

Georgina J. Flannery, M.S.

Public Services: Reference Librarian/Special Collections

updated June 25, 2019

Special Collections Room's three collections: The Newton [History] Collection, Massachusetts Collection and Genealogy Collection

Special Collections

The Special Collections Room is located near the southeast corner of the library's main floor.  Patrons can gain access to this locked room by showing ID to the Reference Librarians at the Public Services ASK desk on the first floor. Items in Special Collections do not circulate.  

Please be advised that the Newton Collection is a local history collection only

Government documents for the City of Newton are accessed through the  Newton City Clerk's Office and or the City Archivist.

Please click HERE for a direct link to the City Clerk and HERE for a direct link to the City Archivist

 

updated GjF 10/4/2019

Newton Free Library Catalog

Use the Newton Free Library's online catalog to find a specific book in the  library's  historical collection known as the Newton Collection.

Newton Collection Card Catalog and Biography Catalog

There are Newton subject and biography card index files on the left as you enter the Special Collections Room.   The biography card file is located in the drawers immediately to the right of the Newton subject card file index.

The subject index contains citations to newspapers, periodicals and books in the Newton and Reference Collections about Newton.

 The biography index contains citations to newspapers, periodicals and books in the Newton and Reference Collections about Newton residents (past and present).

The subject and biography card indexes were closed on 12/31/1999.  Please refer to the online Newton News Index for entries from 1/1/1999-present.

Abbrevations used in the Newtoniana

col.: color, colored

comp.: compiled, compiler

ed.: edited, edition, editor

eds.: editors

fasim., facsims.: facsimle, -s

illus.: illustrated, illlustrations

MA., Mass.: Massachusetts

misc.: miscellaneous

n.d.: no date

no., nos.: number, -s

p.: page, -s

photo., photos.: photograph, -s

ports.: portraits

repr.: reprinted

rev.: revised

s.l.: no place (of publication) [sine loco]

s.n.: no name (of publisher) [sine nomine]

v., vol.: volume, -s