It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Foundation Center's Funding Information Network
Starting a nonprofit organization? Learning how to write a grant proposal? Seeking more information about volunteer management? Searching for new ideas on how to find the big donors? Begin here!
This is the online version of IRS Publication 78, Cumulative List of Organizations described in Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. It provides a list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions, searchable by name, city, or state.
Promotes and supports service and volunteerism by investing public and private resources in community-based organizations that rely upon volunteers and people engaged in service to meet their community's needs. New funding opportunities are announced throughout the year.
A major initiative of the Urban Institute. Develops and disseminates high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
Launched in 1996 and administered by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, this is a major source for timely, reliable, and relevant humanitarian information and analysis.
Benefits.gov offers multiple search methods to help you quickly find benefits based on the type of assistance you are interested in. Target your search by category, by state, or by federal agency. Explore other benefit-related resources.
Grant opportunities that are browse-able by category. Since 1996 Fundsnet Services has provided resources information about grants, fundraising, philanthropy, foundations and 501(c)(3) non-profits organizations to those in need of funding and research for their their philanthropic efforts and missions.
A product of Michigan State University Libraries; individual grant opportunities divided into academic level, population group and subject. This compilation focuses primarily on funding opportunities for individuals, such as financial aid or scholarships for students, rather than funding for nonprofit organizations.
A product of Michigan State University Libraries; grants for nonprofits listed alphabetically by subject. This compilation focuses primarily on grants or funding sources for nonprofit organizations. A few categories (marked with an asterisk) are also of interest to individuals.
Grants.gov is your source to find and apply for federal grants. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is the managing partner for Grants.gov, an initiative that is having an unparalleled impact on the grant community.
Information on the programs and finances of almost 2 million American IRS-registered 501(c) nonprofit organizations that may accept tax-deductible contributions. The site also maintains resources for nonprofits and for donors.
Innovation Network is a nonprofit evaluation, research, and consulting firm. We provide knowledge and expertise to help nonprofits and funders learn from their work to improve their results. We share evaluation know-how through customized consulting and training services, research dissemination, and online tools and resources.
One of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States. NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans. It accomplishes this mission by awarding grants for top-rated proposals examined by panels of independent, external reviewers.
Free Web-based grant-writing tools for non-profit organizations, charitable, educational, public organizations, and other community-minded groups. These guides are designed to assist established US-based non-profits through the grant-writing process.
This site, maintained by the Society for Nonprofit Organizations, is an excellent overview on the subject, and the FAQs answer such questions as, Do I need a lawyer? Where can I get money to start? and When can I start soliciting donations?
About USASPENDING.gov: the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) of 2006 requires that the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) establish a single searchable website, accessible to the public at no cost, which includes for each Federal award: the name of the entity receiving the award; the amount of the award; information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc; the location of the entity receiving the award; and a unique identifier of the entity receiving the award.
How do you get a grant to pursue art? What agencies give grants to the arts? What forms of non-monetary support are available for artists? This site covers both private and public sources of funding. Includes link to the National Endowment for the Arts.
A project of Pew Fellowships in the Arts. The information found in this site was gathered from a variety of sources. This guide is coded by topic, such as Promotion for artists and Work Space and Housing. The resources are broken down by arts discipline, where relevant, and/or by subtopic.
Leveraging Investments in Creativity (LINC) is a ten-year national initiative to improve the conditions for artists working in all disciplines. Launched in July 2003, LINC seeks to assist the people, organizations, and communities already at work in supporting artists, and to address needs not being served.
An independent knowledge center on cultural mobility for artists, with a strong focus on artist-in-residence opportunities. Here you can find all about facts, use and value of international artist-in-residence programs as well as other cultural opportunities for artists to stay and work elsewhere.
A worldwide community of artists and allies that works for empowerment, opportunity, and visibility for women artists. We provide a variety of free online networking, fundraising and advocacy services, and more.
A searchable database of the literature of philanthropy. It incorporates the unique contents of the Foundation Center's five libraries and contains more than 30,000 full bibliographic citations, of which nearly 22,000 have descriptive abstracts. It is updated daily.
A monthly newsletter that examines the grantmaking of private foundations. From the Capital Research Center (CRC), the nation's leading source of organizations and their donors. Each article is downloadable in pdf format.
From Open CRS: Congressional Research Service Reports for the People. This report is intended for Members and staff assisting grant seekers in districts and states, and it includes writing proposals for both government and private foundations grants.